March 26, 2023

Nathan’s Hotdog Contest 2022: Joey Chestnut and Miki Sudo are the winners of the 2022 Nathan’s hot dog eating competition. Chestnut won the Nathan’s Famous Fourth of July hot dog eating event for the 15th time, and Sudo made a strong comeback to take home the women’s crown.

Nathan’s Hotdog Contest 2022: Prize Money, Results, Channel, Time, Rules, Location

 Joey Chestnut recently demonstrated his competitive eating prowess once more.

Prize Money:

Men’s and women’s competition winners in Major League Eating normally receive top awards of $10,000 apiece, with the remaining top five eaters receiving rewards that are progressively smaller.

The prize fund is worth $40,000. The purse has usually been divided as follows:

  • First place: $10,000
  • Second place: $5,000
  • Third place: $2,500
  • Fourth place: $1,500
  • Fifth place: $1,000


With 76 hot dogs, Chestnut broke the previous record set at the 2021 competition. Six-time defending champion Sudo, who missed the competition while awaiting the birth of her child, lost her position in the women’s division to Lesco.

In order to win for the seventh straight year, Chestnut will return to Coney Island in 2022, and Sudo will also be back on stage this year.

Nathan's Hotdog Contest 2022: Prize Money, Results, Channel, Time, Rules, Location

Year Winner Hot dogs eaten Time
2021 men’s Joey Chestnut 76 10 mins.
2021 women’s Michelle Lesco 30.75  
2020 men’s Joey Chestnut 75 10 mins.
2020 women’s Miki Sudo 48.5
2019 men’s Joey Chestnut 71 10 mins.
2019 women’s Miki Sudo 31
2018 men’s Joey Chestnut 74 10 mins.
2018 women’s Miki Sudo 37
2017 men’s Joey Chestnut 72 10 mins.
2017 women’s Miki Sudo 41
2016 men’s Joey Chestnut 70 10 mins.
2016 women’s Miki Sudo 38.5
2015 men’s Matt Stonie 62 10 mins.
2015 women’s Miki Sudo 38
2014 men’s Joey Chestnut 61 10 mins.
2014 women’s Miki Sudo 34
2013 men’s Joey Chestnut 69 10 mins.
2013 women’s Sonya Thomas 36.75
2012 men’s Joey Chestnut 68 10 mins.
2012 women’s Sonya Thomas 45
2011 men’s Joey Chestnut 62 10 mins.
2011 women’s Sonya Thomas 40
2010 Joey Chestnut 54 10 mins.
2009 Joey Chestnut 68 10 mins.
2008 Joey Chestnut 59 10 mins.
2007 Joey Chestnut 66 12 mins.
2006 Takeru Kobayashi 53.75 12 mins.
2005 Takeru Kobayashi 49 12 mins.
2004 Takeru Kobayashi 53.5 12 mins.
2003 Takeru Kobayashi 44.5 12 mins.
2002 Takeru Kobayashi 50.5 12 mins.
2001 Takeru Kobayashi 50 12 mins
2000 Kazutoyo Arai 25 12 mins.
1999 Steve Keiner 21.5 12 mins.
1998 Hirofumi Nakajima 19 12 mins.
1997 Hirofumi Nakajima 24.5 12 mins.



Replays of the event will be broadcast at 4:00 p.m. ET on ESPN, 5:00 p.m. ET on ESPNEWS, and 10:00 p.m. ET on ESPN if you can’t watch live.


If you have a working cable login, you may watch Watch ESPN or the ESPN app to see the 2022 Nathan’s Hot Dog Eating Contest live.

The match will be replayed at 4 p.m., 10 p.m., and 5 p.m. on ESPN and ESPNews, respectively. The main event will be streamed on ESPN+ and fuboTV, which has a free trial.


Nathan's Hotdog Contest 2022: Prize Money, Results, Channel, Time, Rules, Location

2022 Nathan’s Hot Dog Eating Contest was at 8:30 PM – 10:30 PM 

  • Date: Sunday, July 4
  • Time: 10:45 a.m. ET

This year, coverage of the women’s competition will start at 10:45 a.m. ET. The men’s competition will begin at around 12:00 ET after the women’s competition is over.

Joey “Jaws” Chestnut won his 14th championship in 2021 and set a new record by consuming 76 hot dogs and buns in the allotted 10 minutes. After taking down 66 “HDBs,” Chestnut of San Jose, California, won his first championship in 2007 and ousted Takeru Kobayashi of Japan.


  1. Each competitor gets ten minutes to eat as many uniformly sized and weighed hot dogs and buns as they can.
  2. Each contestant provided a plate with five hot dogs and buns, one at a time.
    Ketchup and mustard are offered but not required.
  3. Competitors may bring their own non-alcoholic beverages and will be given a maximum of 13 cups in addition to the water provided by the event organisers.
  4. Hot dogs and buns can only be dipped in cups for a maximum of five seconds by competitors.
  5. Although the hot dog and bun can be split up, if only a portion of the hot dog is consumed, the same goes for the bun; vice versa.
  6. Contestant to consume the most hot dogs in a sitting without using utensils.
  7. A contestant is declared the winner if they consume the most hot dogs in a 10-minute period.


Location: Nathan’s Famous

After being forced to relocate in 2020 and 2021 due to the epidemic, the historic Nathan’s Famous flagship restaurant at the corner of Surf and Stillwell avenues in Coney Island will host the Fourth of July International Hot Dog Eating Contest in 2022.

The event, a holiday custom in the United States, will happen on July 4, 2022, from 11 am to 1 pm at 1310 Surf Avenue.

Also Read- Skip Holtz: Net Worth, Salary, Contract, Career Earnings, Endorsements

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *